Richmond's Own (but unowned) Website

 
 
I’m not sure how long I’m going to keep my dates European (I changed one of my clocks to 24 hour time too, instead of 12 hour – a lot of things were on 12 hour time in England, but bus schedules and cinema times were on 24 hour time), but I’ll do it for a while, or at least until I get tired of it.

Not a whole lot to report today. Drove to Dana Point with my mom for some car stuff – nice to see the Pacific Ocean, something I don’t see as much as I probably should. It’s like all the people we met in London who said we’ve seen more of it than they have – I need to get out and see more of the LA area! The freeways here are much bigger though – 5+ lanes per direction, when we were in London, even though we were on freeways/highways/carriageways twice, the most I ever saw was 3 lanes per direction – just a different size and scale. Not to mention the size of the cars. So today was my first time driving long distance in a month – getting used to big cars, big streets, and driving on the right side (not that we drove while we were there). It was alright – about as normal as my freeway driving pre-London anyways. 

Besides that, it’s interesting being back within my “news bubble” – constant source of Twitter feeds via BBC News and CNN, along with cable news networks all day – follow the tragic bombings and killings in Norway, up tp the minute with the latest play by play on the debt ceiling – I’m not sure whether it’s a good or bad thing to be this connected to everything – perhaps that’s something to think about for another blog entry.

I started back on some web programming, which I haven’t really done in over a month. I’m working on a new website, so it was a bit strange to look at it after not seeing it for a while, but I’m starting to get back into the swing of things there.

-----------------------

Mailbag!

Priscilla – Carded a few times – not sure if it was our age or if some places didn’t care as much…you can look pretty young too! I suppose being called “the Americans” is slightly easier when there’s not the same language barrier, and a lot of our actions and appearance (not to mention our accents) probably labeled us as Americans!

Brendan – Yes, strange to be home – quite weird to not be around all of you, and suddenly a much slower pace of life – no more wake up calls 8am by Adam and nonstop until 1am. It’s nice to get sleep! But it’s still a bit offsetting not to be busy 24 hours a day. And I wish I had rain and cooler temperatures now – it’s only been in the 80s/90s, and I’m already getting tired of the heat!


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.