Richmond's Own (but unowned) Website

 
 
So I just finished watching Hunger (wikipedia here)with 3 other people. Emotions flying. It was hard to watch. Partly the use of static shots – like a long (seemed like 20 minutes, maybe shorter) static shot of a conversation. But also just the graphic imagery and dark nature of the film. It was an emotional roller coaster down into the depths of emotion I never knew existed. I don’t really have words for the film. Good yes, but very heavy, very dark. And I thought Schindler’s List was a darker film. It’s hard to believe that it all happened. Definitely something that relates to our sessions on Security and Terror and Human Rights. But I can’t really express how I feel right now. I think I had my eyes covered for a good portion of the film. And it wasn’t like a horror film. Though there was a lot of horrific stuff. I think that’s been the hardest hour and a half I’ve ever had to sit through. Very intense. I’m not sure there are words to describe it. Maybe that’s a good thing. We shouldn’t have to describe those things. Yet they occur. I’m not really sure where I’m going with this now. But it was a very hard film. Good film. But hard to watch. And I’m pretty sure it was meant to be like that.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.